Moss caps off historic season with Player of the Year Award

ROSEMONT  — Brenna Moss of the Chicago Bandits secured her spot in the history books Wednesday night as the veteran left fielder captured a trio of honors, including the Park Planet Player of the Year Award, at the NPF Awards Banquet. Gene and Georgetti Steakhouse hosted the annual event, which took place one day before the start of the 2018 NPF Championship Series on Thursday night at Parkway Bank Sports Complex. Moss and the Bandits will square off against the league-leading USSSA Pride in a best-of-five battle for the Cowles Cup.

First pitch in Game 1 of the Championship Series is set for 7 p.m. and the game will be broadcast to a national audience via ESPN+.

Moss, who tied the league’s single-season hits record, also established herself as one of the game’s most potent threat on the basepaths. The former Fresno State standout stole 27 bases to rank third all-time in a single season and first in franchise history. Moss also collected the NPF’s Offensive Player of the Year Award, presented by Louisville Slugger, in unanimous fashion, as well as the 3n2 Sports Dom-N-8 Stolen Bases Award.

USSSA’s Jolene Henderson earned the Diamond Sports Pitcher of the Year Award after the right-hander posted a stellar 10-0 record throughout the regular season with a minuscule 0.40 ERA as part of a dominant Pride pitching staff. Henderson paced the club with 70.0 innings of work in the circle and surrendered just four earned runs. She also maintained a 6-to-1 strikeout-to-walk ratio.

Cleveland Comets rookie first baseman Jade Rhodes took home the prestigious Gold Glove Award, presented by Rawlings. Rhodes committed just two errors in a league-high 369 opportunities in the infield to beat out Pride catcher and 2017 Gold Glove recipient Chelsea Goodacre, and Bandits center fielder Sammy Marshall.

Fellow rookie Jessie Scroggins secured the 805Stats Rookie of the Year Award after the Bandits right fielder posted exceptional numbers in first year at the professional level. The former Baylor standout, whom the Bandits selected 15th overall in the third round of the 2018 NPF Draft, became one of two first-year players in NPF history — joined by Beijing Shougang Eagles outfielder Victoria Draper — to eclipse the .400 mark at the plate. Scroggins concluded the regular season with a .412 clip at the plate, breaking the previous record set by Sami Fagan of the Akron Racers during the 2016 season.

A trio of standout sluggers shared the title of Wilson Home Run Champion after Chicago’s Emily Carosone, along with USSSA’s Lauren Chamberlain and Megan Wiggins each delivered 12 deep flies during the 2018 campaign. Wiggins supplied a pair of home runs over the final two games of the regular season to create the three-way tie.

Veteran umpire Bill Gomoluch received the Umpire of the Year honor, presented by Crown Trophy, as a result of his continued excellence behind the plate and supporting roles as a base umpire.

The USSSA Pride coaching staff of Mike Stith, Cody Dent and Andrea Duran captured the Vaultz Lock It Up! Coaching Staff of the Year honor after the first-year crew guided the Pride to the NPF’s regular season championship and best regular season record of all-time at 42-5. USSSA lost just a single game at home during the 2018 season and tore off 16 consecutive to ignite its historic performance.

For more information about National Pro Fastpitch or to purchase tickets to the 2018 Championship Series, please visit or call the box office at 877-722-6348.

2018 All-NPF Team, presented by Easton

Position                                 Name                                      Team

Catcher                                   Kristyn Sandberg                  Chicago Bandits

First base                               Jade Rhodes                           Cleveland Comets

Second base                          Emily Carosone                     Chicago Bandits

Third base                             Bianka Bell                             USSSA Pride

Shortstop                               Shelby Pendley                     USSSA Pride

Outfield                                  Brenna Moss                          Chicago Bandits

Outfield                                  Sammy Marshall                   Chicago Bandits

Outfield                                  Megan Wiggins                      USSSA Pride

Designated player                 Lauren Chamberlain           USSSA Pride

At-large                                  Hallie Wilson                         USSSA Pride

At-large                                  Jessie Scroggins                    Chicago Bandits

At-large                                  Victoria Draper                     Beijing Shougang Eagles

At-large                                  Nadia Taylor                          Chicago Bandits

At-large                                  Sierra Romero                       USSSA Pride

Pitcher                                    Jolene Henderson                 USSSA Pride

Pitcher                                    Shelby Turnier                      Chicago Bandits

Pitcher                                    Keilani Ricketts                      USSSA Pride

Pitcher                                    Jessica Burroughs                 USSSA Pride


National Pro Fastpitch (NPF), an Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball since 2004, provides elite female athletes with an opportunity to pursue a professional career in fastpitch softball beyond their collegiate and amateur success.  The NPF affiliate teams consist of the Aussie Spirit, Beijing Shougang Eagles, Chicago Bandits, Cleveland Comets, and USSSA Florida Pride for the 2018 season. National Pro Fastpitch players hail from the United States, Australia, Canada and China among which are the most accomplished and talented athletes in the sport of women’s softball.

Please enter your name.
Please enter a valid email address.
Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Bandit Academy Sidebar AD